Week Nine Blog Activity – Practical: Review a peers storify

Screen Shot 2015-09-16 at 7.31.25 pm

(https://storify.com/MW_Heather/shalom-markets-bundaberg)

For this week’s blog activity, I have decided to review the Storify of Heather Rhebein. Heather has chosen the Shalom Markets in Bundaberg as her event.

The audience for this particular piece are the locals and visitors from across the Wide-Bay and Burnett region

Because of Heather’s in depth and informative recollection of the event, the Storify provided me with plenty of information about the Shalom Markets.

There is a weekly market held at Shalom College in Bundaberg. This is an opportunity for local farmers and growers to sell their produce and encourages locals to support their local businesses. There are stalls set up by locals where they can sell their own knick-knacks and treasures. These markets host a family friendly atmosphere, with plenty of activities catering for children such as jumping castles, face-painting and pony rides.

The only thing I could think to make this story more interesting would be the addition of more photos. I think that Heather has incorporated plenty of quotes and has interviewed enough people from different demographics in order to gain a well-rounded response to the event.

The structure itself is really well set out and flows quite well. My only constructive criticism is that the pictures could be arranged better with their corresponding paragraph. For example, Heather introduces Margret Thompson the candle maker, and then features a picture of jewellery before she features a picture of Margaret’s candles. This is the only area that I’ve picked up on, I cannot fault the rest of the Storify.

I’m really impressed with the way that Heather has gone about this event. I think that all of the quotes and interviews she has included have been worked in to the story really well.

Heather has given the reader a very thorough description of the event and supported this with photographic evidence. I think that Heather has incorporated appropriate photos for the event, and my only criticism is that maybe she could’ve included more.

Really great job Heather, I hope this review helps.


Reference:

Rhebein, H 2015, Shalom markets Bundaberg, Storify, viewed 16 September 2015, <https://storify.com/MW_Heather/shalom-markets-bundaberg>.


Week Nine Blog Activity – Practical: Review a peers storify

2 thoughts on “Week Nine Blog Activity – Practical: Review a peers storify

  1. Hello Rachel,

    Thanks so much for choosing to review my Storify. I am really glad to read that you enjoyed it; and of course, really grateful for all your helpful comments and feedback. It’s definitely still a work in progress and your insight will definitely help as I refine my submission further. I’ve just had a look over your blog today, and it is clear that you have spent a lot of time working on high-quality entries, which is just really great. You might see me back again soon, offering some comments on your posts!

    Thanks again!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

