Week Ten Blog Activity – Practical: Review my blog

All

10 weeks, 30 blog entries and far too many words to count has led to this – the end of my blog. I enjoyed writing each blog entry throughout the term and have gained a considerable amount of knowledge from this media writing course. However, as the term comes to a close, the end of one assessment allows me to redirect my time to another.

So without further ado, here is my review:

The layout of my blog is clean, easy to read and navigate. I kept the layout of my blog minimalistic and easy to digest. I used the same font, colour and size for each blog post.

I have completed a total of 30 blog entries which is the required amount for assessment two. I have referred to the blog task requirements sheet to ensure that I have covered each week’s blog activities.

The major challenges I faced throughout this assessment were keeping up to date with each blog activity and peer-reviewing. Although keeping up to date with the weekly tasks proved to be difficult, I honestly believe that all of my blog tasks have been quite thorough and go beyond a “brief reflection”.

Keeping up with the peer-review each week was quite difficult for me. The bulk of my peer reviews started in week 8 because I didn’t devote enough time to the task throughout the term.

I’m really glad that I worked on the assessment throughout the term and didn’t leave it to the last minute. The review of peers on my blog also helped me to a great deal. Having other students review my blog helped me to correct the punctuation and grammar mistakes that I would’ve lost marks on.

I think the assessment task is appropriately set up and encourages students to keep up to date throughout the term. I didn’t find the weekly activities too involved or too difficult and I think that the weekly content is set out really well and is easy to work through.

My writing skills have improved greatly thanks to the blog activities. I’ve learnt to write shorter sentences, space out my paragraphs more and to read my work out loud to pick up mistakes. I’ve become aware of my grammar and punctuation, the use of ‘it’s/its’ and redundant words.

I’m very happy with my attempt and hope that my efforts are reflected in my grade.

That’s all folks!


Reference:

That’s all Folks! 2015, digital image, Looney Tunes Wiki, viewed on 17 September 2015, <http://looneytunes.wikia.com/wiki/That’s_All_Folks>.


Week Ten Blog Activity – Practical: Review my blog

3 thoughts on “Week Ten Blog Activity – Practical: Review my blog

  1. Hi Rachel

    I think it’s a good reflection piece that you have done here, I have a few comments to make though

    I think if you reference the textbook and a few other sources this will strengthen your blog,

    I had a look at your reference and it has a few errors in it, if you take a look at page 53 of the referencing guide it will help. I have included the link in case you don’t have it already –> https://www.cqu.edu.au/?a=14032

    Also when I clicked on the link you provided in the reference it comes up with “page not found”

    Good Job Rachel 🙂

    Like

  2. Hey Rachel,
    You have given a very thorough review of your blog. I enjoyed how you began your review with, ‘So without further ado, here is my review’. I thought it was very creative. I noticed that you used the word ‘have’ a lot in your blog. The use of ‘have’ in most cases is redundant. By removing some of these, your sentences will become more succinct. Also, you should think about the tense of your blog. Especially in this paragraph:
    • I’m really glad that I have worked on this assessment throughout the term and haven’t left it to the last minute. The review of peers on my blog has helped me to a great deal. Having other students review my blog helps me to correct the punctuation and grammar mistakes that I would’ve lost marks on.
    You have used different tenses throughout this paragraph. I believe that you should choose a tense and stick with it. My suggestion would be to use past tense as you are reflecting on something that you have already completed.

    It takes confidence to publically admit your weaknesses and I compliment you on that. I have also had trouble keeping up with doing my peer reviews.

    Thank you
    Kyla Bloxsom

    Like

    1. Hi Kyla!
      I greatly appreciate your thorough feedback! It’s fantastic to see you provide such extensive and helpful reviews and provide suggestions.
      Hope you’re doing well in the final weeks of term, all the best with your studies!
      Thanks, Rachel.

      Like

Leave a Reply

